AEDA Presented Business Appreciation Awards

Arvada Economic Development Association Presented Business Appreciation Awards to Honor top Arvada Businesses

ARVADA, Colo., October 06, 2010 – The Arvada Economic Development Association (AEDA) hosted its 16th annual business appreciation awards breakfast on September 30, 2010, presenting 13 awards to Arvada-based business leaders. Nearly 200 attendees came to honor the winners, including AEDA board members, Arvada government dignitaries, and local business owners.

The breakfast was emceed by the City of Arvada's assistant city manager Vicky Reier. Arvada Mayor Bob Frie provided a city update about upcoming initiatives that contribute to the city's business base.

“Our organization honors Arvada business leaders each year to showcase the hard work and commitment they bring to the Arvada community. This awards program recognizes those that make Arvada a great place to live and do business," said AEDA president Frank Barone.

Hazel Hartbarger, AEDA director added, “Our city's business environment is unique in that city representatives, from City Council to management to all staff levels in the organization, partner with us to ensure a supportive business climate."

AEDA presented three awards of distinction:

Lloyd J. King Entrepreneurial Spirit Award: Luke Heesacker with Arvada Rent-Alls

Community Spirit Award: Roy Jackson with Roy Jackson Electric

Distinguished Service Award: Mike Litzau with Sooper Credit Union

The Community Partner of the Year award went to the Arvada Chamber of Commerce, and nine companies were presented with Outstanding Business of the Year awards in their respective industry. These companies were: Applewood Seed Company, Colchin Automotive and Diesel, D. Line Graphics, FirstBank of Arvada, Milender White Construction Company, Mrs. K Video Production, Serenity Salon and Spa, The Wedding Seamstress, and Wastequip May Manufacturing.