Child Safety Seat Law Changes in Colorado

Child Safety Seat Law Changes in Colorado

Colorado has expanded the child passenger safety law in Colorado. This change went into effect in August, 2011.

That means law enforcement will starting pulling over and giving $82 citations to drivers transporting children under age eight who are not in a car seat or booster seat. Previously, the law only required child safety seats for children under age six. 

  • Babies under one-year-old and less than 20 pounds must ride in a rear-facing car seat and only in the back seat of the vehicle.
  • Once babies turn one-year-old and weigh at least 20 pounds, the law gives them the option of using a front-facing car seat. Rear-facing car seats are still allowed by law and safety experts recommend that parents continue using them to the upper weight limit allowed by the car seat manufacturer because it provides the most protection.
  • Children ages 4, 5, 6, and 7 must continue to be protected in a child safety restraint. For most kids in this age group that means a booster seat, but experts recommend that children remain in a forward-facing car seat longer if the upper weight limit of the seat allows it (usually 40-50 pounds).
  • When a child turns eight, the law allows them to use a vehicle seat belt. But for the best protection, safety experts recommend that kids continue to use a booster seat until they are at least 4’9” tall, which half of children will not reach until they are 11 years old.

 All parents and family members are encouraged to learn the new law updates and provide the most safety in transporting our children.