Jefferson County Accepted as Designated Disaster Area

1-800-621-FEMA or  DisasterAssistance.Gov

As of September 19, Jefferson County has been accepted as a Designated Disaster Area.


Assistance for qualified applicants may include:

  • Grants  to rent temporary housing as needed.
  • Grants  for home repairs not covered by insurance.
  • Grants  for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance—such as medical or dental expenses, moving and storage fees, and personal property replacement.
  • Low-interest disaster loans  from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for homeowners, renters, businesses  of all sizes and  private nonprofit organizations  to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance.


How to apply:

  • Apply online at
  • Apply via smartphone at
  • Call the registration phone number at 1-800-621-3362; those who have a speech disability or hearing loss and use TTY, should call 1-800-462-7585 directly; for those who use 711 or Video Relay Service (VRS), call 1-800-621-3362.


What info you will need:

  • Social Security number
  • Address of the damaged home or apartment
  • Description of the damage
  • Information about insurance coverage
  • A current contact telephone number
  • An address where you can get mail
  • Bank account and routing numbers if you want direct deposit of any financial assistance.


For more information on the Colorado disaster operation, visit .